Forums

Help › Forums

Re: So many issues...I'll start with bunkers.

rated by 0 users
Wed, Aug 10 2016 12:23 PM (8 replies)
  • GreenOstrich
    4 Posts
    Sat, Jul 30 2016 1:15 PM

I'm not sure how or where to post, but I saw I could here...maybe I'll get some tips. WGT claims to be the most realistic online golf gaming experience. So why is it that your ball ROLLS into a bunker and it's a 30% lie? I can see the ball being somewhat buried if it comes straight down...but rolling into a bunker shouldn't cause a bad lie.

That being said, is there any way to hit something other than a wedge out of a fairway bunker? I've been playing golf for nearly 20 years and have hit hybrids and long irons out of many fairway bunkers. But on this "realistic" game, I can't hit anything other than a wedge.

(Well, you CAN hit irons out of a bunker but it doesn't matter. A 5 iron goes just as far as a pitching wedge.)

• alosso
    21,054 Posts
    Sun, Jul 31 2016 12:00 AM

Lie %% is a characteristics of the bunker, not of the shot. Most bunker areas are 30/40, some are less or more, regardless of the shot.

Yes, only wedges (incl. PW) from 30/40 bunkers, and don't expect more than 80 yds. Lie %% is the burying rate, and I guess that you hit hybrids etc. IRL only from "on top" lies of 0 - 10 %.

You hope for a change? Consider that they are WGT and hope is futile.

• Robert1893
    7,711 Posts
    Wed, Aug 10 2016 7:00 AM

If I recall correctly, I think you can hit longer irons out of Bethpage bunkers. But those bunkers are the most forgiving because, I believe they're all set to 20-25%. 

• hakman123
    2,119 Posts
    Wed, Aug 10 2016 7:13 AM

The lie is a function of the topography.