Forums

Help › Forums

Re: longest drive going backwards

rated by 0 users
Fri, Jul 22 2011 1:32 PM (8 replies)
  • craigswan
    31,545 Posts
    Thu, Jul 21 2011 6:04 AM

When i started playing here months ago my longest drive measured 295 yards .I still use same driver but no matter how the wind is helping i cannot get close to that yardage and i am a better player now .Why and any tips to help .

• WGTicon
    12,511 Posts
    Thu, Jul 21 2011 6:39 AM

craigswan:

When i started playing here months ago my longest drive measured 295 yards .I still use same driver but no matter how the wind is helping i cannot get close to that yardage and i am a better player now .Why and any tips to help .

Hi

usually, the long drive requires hitting certain spot on a certain hole. I seen people drive 410+ ON #5 STA and next one drive 300 with same clubs conditions.

perhaps an upgrade in drive is in order?

-wgticon

• Yappy22
    733 Posts
    Thu, Jul 21 2011 6:41 AM

Starter driver and starter balls and your at level 84........... ah maybe you need to upgrade???  LOL

• sixkiller
    1,147 Posts
    Thu, Jul 21 2011 6:47 AM

I hit my longest drive of 383 yds, several months ago and have since upgraded both driver and balls. Longest drive since upgrading everything has only been 368 yds.

• Dianne81
    773 Posts
    Thu, Jul 21 2011 7:06 AM

My longest is 403 yrds and happened in unlikely way....  I guess the trick is to aim for the 60-70 weeds and hope for a lucky kick ;)

replay.aspx?ID=f1306022 809d 4922 8234 9f2500cae10d

• BillyTBudMan
    100 Posts
    Thu, Jul 21 2011 8:20 AM

Dianne81:
    I guess the trick is to aim for the 60-70 weeds and hope for a lucky kick ;)

Miss Dianne81 is right, not sure why, but to land on the down slope / backside of a fescue encrusted mound is like hitting a darn trampoline.  I've begun to make some of these mounds my landing targets on MR. Andrew's course as it adds significant distance to my otherwise puny drives.