Forums

Help › Forums

Re: What am I missing?

rated by 0 users
Wed, May 1 2019 7:41 PM (6 replies)
  • Weenus74
    1 Posts
    Wed, May 1 2019 11:04 AM

This game is so far off on physics and math that I don't know if I'll ever advance. Wind blowing 19-21 left, I aim way right, shot goes way left. Greens are inconsistent at best. Club don't perform as stated. Is there a trick I'm missing here or something? Frustration is a fast way to get me to quit, not buy equipment. If I did better, I'd be encouraged to buy. Instead, I'm thinking of leaving. Thoughts? 

• Tcushman
    170 Posts
    Wed, May 1 2019 11:56 AM

Welcome to the world of real golf. I've been playing real golf for over 50 years and on here for almost 10. Learned how to swear on a real course and found out that yelling at the ball and leaning has about the same affect on here as it does on my home course.

Don't give up.....it's after all why we "play golf" and don't 'work" it. If we did we'd be on TV.

Just have fun and enjoy the maddening frustration.....oh but for that one good shot, I'd never pick up a club again...lol.

Tim

• DoctorLarry
    4,302 Posts
    Wed, May 1 2019 12:14 PM

Weenus74:

This game is so far off on physics and math that I don't know if I'll ever advance. Wind blowing 19-21 left, I aim way right, shot goes way left. Greens are inconsistent at best. Club don't perform as stated. Is there a trick I'm missing here or something? Frustration is a fast way to get me to quit, not buy equipment. If I did better, I'd be encouraged to buy. Instead, I'm thinking of leaving. Thoughts? 

Give it some time.

You have just started.  You have starter clubs and the starter ball - called the "rock".

Starter equipment has a large built-in variability and limited capabilities.  The club distances are just a number - don't assume they are "true" until you have practiced a lot.