Forums

Help › Forums

Re: I Smell a Rat (lost ball to water hazard)

rated by 0 users
Wed, Mar 21 2012 3:50 PM (5 replies)
  • DinkMartini
    8 Posts
    Tue, Jan 24 2012 5:11 PM

Noob here.  I have played alot for the last 6 days.  Many, many holes.  Granted, I've only played Kiawah and there aren't many water hazards but I've never even been CLOSE to the water.  Today, I spent credits on three balls.  All of a sudden on 17 the ball comes off the club at a horrific angle.  Yes, I pushed a bit but have never had a nasty contact like that from the amount I was off.  Insult to injury was the bounce I got.  It kicked like a frog for water--Ugly, ugly bounce.  Scratch one ball.  Coincidence?  Doubt it.  My golf career won't survive too many stinkers like that one.

• DinkMartini
    8 Posts
    Wed, Jan 25 2012 6:37 AM

This AM I was surprised to find that I'd been moved to the white tees and struggled a bit with faster greens.  Looks like I've jumped up a tier to pro.

In fairness, I should say that if I advanced to pro during my round last night (not even sure if it changes DURING a round), this could account for the push that plopped my ball in the drink.   From my experience this morning, missing the ding by as much as I did last night could have caused the bad shot that I was cryin' about in the last post.

Since nobody else chimed in to claim 'foul' about ball-loss I must assume that what I had was an unhappy coincidence.

My apologies for the not-so-veiled accusation.

• burnone2
    153 Posts
    Wed, Jan 25 2012 5:23 PM

i also wasted 50+ credits on 3 sets of balls and it seem like they were drawn to the water as if they were in the desert looking for a cold drink i know that there is a correlation between purchased balls and hitting the water

• Plari
    1 Posts
    Wed, Mar 21 2012 10:13 AM