Forums

Help › Forums

Re: Confidence and Putting...

rated by 0 users
Thu, Feb 9 2012 6:00 AM (8 replies)
  • JaLaBar
    1,254 Posts
    Fri, Feb 3 2012 8:52 AM

This is going to sound like a very strange statement, but I have found the better I putt, the better I putt.

Let me explain:  Putting was/is the hardest thing to grasp here at WGT.  I've been playing here for about 10 months now, and after 2 months I was able to hit pins with regularity, but putting was a crap shoot.  It has gradually gotten better, and now I am at a point where I feel comfortable on the greens.  The putts inside 10' I feel I am going to make, and those from 10-20' I feel I have a very good shot at.  I also don't tremble when looking at much longer putts any more, enjoying the challenge (usually in alt shot... otherwise it means I hit a bad approach lol).  But getting better at putting made me a better putter.

It allowed me to speed up my putts (roll speed).  I can hit them harder, thereby removing some of the break and making the putts effectively easier.  It's not only the confidence of knowing the putt is going to go where I want it to go, but also that if I charge at it and miss, and I end up with a tricky comeback, the confidence that I'll make that allows me more freedom to go for putts.