Help › Forums

Chipping Woes

rated by 0 users
Thu, Jun 7 2012 10:02 PM (14 replies)
  • PAGES
  • TxTdubya
    19 Posts
    Wed, Jun 6 2012 7:37 PM

I'm having a very difficult time chipping from around the green from the rough.  25-30% in the first cut, pin is about 8 yards away, the meter reads a full chip shot should travel 16 yards.  I hit the ball with 60% power and the ball goes 1 foot closer to the pin and still in the rough.  Increase the power some, and I sail it over the green, only to find that I'm in the exact same position on the opposite side of the green. 

Is there another style of shot that will work better around the green from the rough?  I know that landing and staying on the green will prevent this, but I'm still learning...

• dario2589
    202 Posts
    Wed, Jun 6 2012 7:43 PM

Try pitching any time you can instead of chipping.

• DarSum
    1,440 Posts
    Wed, Jun 6 2012 7:44 PM

Try pitch or flop. I actually use full shot probably 50% of the time. I have my 64 degree wedge mapped out how far it will go with full bs and no bs with each avatar movement.

Chip doesn't carry far enough in the air to get the the green. Pitch, flop or full shot will.

• pUGfANmn
    436 Posts
    Wed, Jun 6 2012 8:02 PM

I threw this out there in another thread where the thought was that the rough wasn't consistent.

The mechanics of a chip shot are very different than those of a pitch or flow - chipping is a much slower and less "powerful" stroke to begin with - trying to finesse a chip out of the rough by adjusting power just doesn't work.  With a full swing on a chip, you have a chance at getting it out, even with the resistance of the rough.  But the slower the swing, the more the rough will catch the club.

Pitching and flopping have more follow-through on a swing, so the club head speed can be adjusted to finesse a bit more.  But, when you start getting into 50-60% (which I've only done once accidentally), you're looking at a punch more than likely.