Help › Forums

Newbie "Just For Fun" Player Needs Help

rated by 0 users
Thu, Jun 28 2012 2:24 PM (13 replies)
  • PAGES
  • patsfangr
    2 Posts
    Tue, Jun 12 2012 5:08 AM

Hi all! I'm brand new to this game, and enjoy it on a "just for fun" level. I'm not going to be putting money in it to upgrade equipment, etc. But I would like some help in getting past a couple of problems I'm having, even at this level, with the basics.

The most important is what appears to me to be serious inconsistency with the meter for hitting shots. Wedges, in particular, seem almost impossible on chips and pitches out of the rough. Unless the green line is stopped right ON the center line, the shots are invariably left short, and still in the rough. What am I doing wrong?

The putter also seems to be unreasonably demanding of "quick finger-eye coordination".

I have almost no problem with the driver. I'm in the fairway nearly every time, albeit very short, because, as I said, I'm playing with the basic equipment. But I can deal with that.

Also, it seems that I can sometimes hit a 3W or Utility wood with a perfect stop on the line, yet get just over half of the club's advertised difference. ???

Does it make any difference where you have the cursor when you START the takeaway?

As you can see, I have a lot of confusion; and, for reasons unknown, the video tutorials will not run for me. They just stall when I hit the play button.

What information, or suggestions for a thorough tutorial, can any of you provide for me? Any and all "beginner tips" for the scroll bar, and club use, will be appreciated.

Thanks for your attention! Have fun. And good luck to those of who are good enough (and wealthy enough) to compete! :-)

- George

• WGTicon
    12,511 Posts
    Tue, Jun 12 2012 5:18 AM

hi

that's the thing with basic clubs, if you don't hit it perf (even then) they will spray. that's because they are not precise by nature. same for putter, any miss will spray.