Forums

Help › Forums

Putting. Am I missing something?

Sat, Sep 22 2012 6:59 PM (34 replies)
  • SevenDeuce
    31 Posts
    Wed, Sep 12 2012 2:53 PM

So since I started playing this game, I've missed 90% of my birdie putts by 2-4 inches short or I'll hit the cup and it will launch another 7 feet passed the hole. Now here's my dilemma, because I'm utterly confused at this point and frankly getting quite irritated.

I use that putter pal thing and the level 35 Ghost Spider putter (was using the level 19 spider putter up until a few hours ago) and I'm always within 1-2 feet of the hole distance wise, and I always putt long because I hate being short, but it seems when I'm going for birdie, all that goes out the window. 

Example - 61 foot putt, 2 inch up slope standard greed type, I pull the putter back to 65% power on a 100 foot putter distance. I ding the putt, perfect line, it hits the hole with such speed it ends up another 10 feet passed the hole. An uphill putt, 65% power (65 feet) the putt goes 75 feet after hitting the hole. BS.

Example 2 - 12 foot putt, no slope, fast green type. I pull my 15 foot putter back to about 95% because I keep leaving the putts short. I end 2 inches short of the hole with a perfect line. 

This happens almost every hole. I don't understand. Am I doing something wrong? Or does this game go out of its way to torment players for buying new clubs? Only birdie putts I have ever made were under 3 feet because of this crap...

• WGTicon
    12,511 Posts
    Wed, Sep 12 2012 3:38 PM

hi

give this guide a read http://www.wgt.com/forums/t/559.aspx

it will give you the basics of the greens and how elevations and slopes work. after that, practice a bit more and see if your putting improves or maybe you'll have some specific questions we can answer.

-wgticon

• PUHOLINO
    1,189 Posts
    Wed, Sep 12 2012 4:00 PM

SevenDeuce: