To Ding or not to Ding? that is the question

rated by 0 users
Thu, Feb 16 2012 2:58 PM (19 replies)
  • PAGES
  • Gobarg
    41 Posts
    Sat, Feb 11 2012 5:43 PM

Hi all

I haven't been playing long but I have been playing a lot :)

I started playing this game trying to hit the ding every time after setting the pointer to where I wanted to hit.

I made a couple of tiers before I tried something else.  I use the swing meter to achieve the same results.  Particularly with putting.  I don't putt from reverse, I just try and read the greens from normal view and when I put I stop the meter wjere I think the green will roll left or right. 

Since switching to this tecnique I have improved out os sight.  Particularly putting.  There are some putts and shots that I need to move the pointer a bit as the swing meter won't account for the full movement of the ball but all in all I am finding that this tecnique works amazingly well.

It has the twofold benefit of not having to worry overmuch about hitting that ding and I feel I have much more control over my game.

What I would like to know though is this technique common and I have just hit upon it myself or is it uncommon among the better players?

thoughts?

• WGTicon
    12,511 Posts
    Sun, Feb 12 2012 1:17 AM

Hi

There is no question, ding ding ding. Whoever says otherwise is entitled to their own opinion, but the game is designed for ding, so they are not playing the best possible way. That's fine, of course, but it's still a fact :)

-wgticon

• piztaker
    5,743 Posts
    Sun, Feb 12 2012 1:31 AM

Lots of players use the aim to miss technique, it works for some.

• kilbraur
    219 Posts
    Sun, Feb 12 2012 1:50 AM

I don't ding and I got to Master level so I guess it is what suits you best.

• mantis0014
    8,946 Posts
    Sun, Feb 12 2012 2:09 AM

I would only Ding a putt if it's straight. I click either side of ding on the greens. I would also move the aimer only if it's an extreme roll and it works for me.