Forums

Help › Forums

Re: Been here awhile but still need help

rated by 0 users
Wed, Jun 24 2015 2:17 PM (4 replies)
  • Caddy04
    15 Posts
    Wed, Jun 24 2015 9:25 AM

Help, I still can't seem to figure out the amount of correct yards to the green. I think the flag when it shows up or down means something in the equation and I think the wind speed has something to do also. Would appreciate some help.I'm not a rocket scientist and would be gratefull for any tid bits  one might share with me.

• alosso
    21,060 Posts
    Wed, Jun 24 2015 10:18 AM

With decent clubs - which you have - my rule of thumb is,

For ups and downs, one yard for every three feet. Elevation 10 ft = add 3.3 yards length. Especially on downslops, top spin or backspin may have an influence. Doesn't work on extreme upslopes like BPB#4(?).

For straight back- or headwinds, I calculate 1 yd per mph for a 200 yds shot. that is, 10 mph headwind at a 140 yds shot, add 10*(140/200) = 7 yds length.

Furthermore, there's quite a few helpful posts out there - just use the search function.

• garyk49
    2,329 Posts
    Wed, Jun 24 2015 12:30 PM

Another suggestion...Get rid of the hybrid you have and replace with a 3rd wedge in line with the 2 you already have.  Even if you have to use the starter wedge to replace it with, you will be able to score better with the 3rd wedge.

For side wind, use the aim block for apx. 10 mph of wind.  20 left to right wind, move the block 2 positions left.  Will work out differently depending on which club you are using.  Wedges will be affected more then long or mid irons are.  This is something you will have to work with into different greens, but it gets you somewhere in the ballpark.

• MainzMan
    9,590 Posts
    Wed, Jun 24 2015 1:09 PM

The numbers I used to work with were as follows.

For cross wind multiply the wind by the distance then divide by 200 to get the amount of yards the ball would move off line.