Forums

Help › Forums

Question - does using backspin decrease the distance of your shot?

rated by 0 users
Fri, Jun 22 2012 2:14 AM (4 replies)
  • pukiebear
    72 Posts
    Thu, Jun 7 2012 12:08 AM

Sorry if this is a dumb question.  I'm still a learning newb.  Thanks for any useful replies.

• piztaker
    5,743 Posts
    Thu, Jun 7 2012 12:14 AM

It can do. But the wind can also play a part.

• MBaggese
    15,367 Posts
    Thu, Jun 7 2012 12:15 AM

Depends on club and balls, but for the most part it will.

Find a nice fairway with no wind, practice it a bit:)

• mgh221
    545 Posts
    Tue, Jun 12 2012 8:41 AM

i've found if you don't go to full backspin (put the dot just a hair above the bottom of the ball) your loss of distance is negligable.... like the other guys said wind plays a big part. remember that backspin creates a higher ball flight. also you'll find that with woods your carry will increase with backspin where topspin will carry less. oddly enough you'll get more dstance using topsin w/ an iron. of course the ball won't stop either lol. as the last post said practice pratice practice. hope this helps a bit :)

• zzturk
    150 Posts
    Fri, Jun 22 2012 2:14 AM

Which has more resistance ... the ground, or air?

If playing into the wind, I always play slight overspin to keep the ball from climbing and letting the wind kill it.

BUT, if the wind is behind me, I find that backspin often allows me longer drives because the ball stays aloft longer and rides the wind. The only exception Is if I'm hitting to a down sloped fairway where roll might come into play. Backspin will make your ball pretty much check up after landing whereas over spin gives better roil after landing.