Forums

Help › Forums

Why do so many Masters quit after a bad hole?

rated by 0 users
Mon, Aug 6 2012 4:03 AM (7 replies)
  • rzman
    166 Posts
    Wed, Jul 11 2012 12:39 PM

I'm fairly new to WGT so maybe I don't understand how the tiers and rankings work yet, but it seems that every time I play a stroke match with a master, they quit as soon as they have a bad hole.  Is there a reason for that or are they just poor sports.  I'v only been playing since June 2012 and my ranking is only Tour pro, so maybe I'm missing something.  Just seems weird. 

• renniw52
    5,385 Posts
    Wed, Jul 11 2012 5:35 PM

They are spineless cowards. I never quit a match since playing WGT. Have taken some real beatings and beat some better players. All good experience and in the true meaning of the game. Don't get upset rz, just keep beating them up.

• hpurey
    11,505 Posts
    Wed, Jul 11 2012 5:44 PM

I think it all boils down to who are the gamers and who are the golfers looking to get their golf fix in.

Me,  only time I ever quit was when I was in a race to make Legend,  but then those were only single player games.

Never quit on purpose during multi player games, many of technical issues causing disconnects, but never quit due to bad shots.  For me the most fun can come from trying to salvage a decent score after some bad shot(s).

Build up a friends list of players you get along with/have fun playing with and only play with them.  Occasionally, when I have no friends available, I will play with some randoms and expect a few quitters but don't let it get to me; usually one other will stick it out and we just laugh at the ones who gave up.  Met plenty of my good wgt friends that way.