Help › Forums

Re: not good without match play

rated by 0 users
Tue, Mar 12 2013 12:44 PM (6 replies)
  • giorgos1976
    14 Posts
    Mon, Mar 11 2013 1:53 PM

Hi all

I am a Pro tier player and I enjoy WGT pretty much. I try to improve my game but that comes with time and proper practice - play. I see that no matter how good you might be at stroke plays, you can't really be a good player if you don't acquire match play experience.

The stress of the battle gives the best practice around. Feel, judgement, accuracy and character is needed to improve seriously our game, before we start winning frequently.

Just pointing out an important element of the game. Without challenge things cannot be best. I like match play much !!

Wish all the virtual golfers of our community the best!

• alanti
    10,564 Posts
    Tue, Mar 12 2013 1:06 AM

I agree that matchplay is good, partly because you can also learn from other players. When I was at lower tiers I found many higher players would give me tips.

I personally never find any game stressful as I purely play for fun, win or lose I still enjoy.

But I did look at your stats, and noted a few things. You really need to work on hitting more greens in regulation. but when you do miss (over 50% of the time) you don;t get up and down. In a nutshell this is where you need to put the game into practice mode and play the par 3 course and try all types of shots around the greens and bunkers and take notes to see what works for you. Then your putting - search the forums for hints as this is the other area that you need to focus on.

As soon as you master these your scores (and matchplay wims) will improve drastically. If you want a hit one time and I am on I will happily play.

• courteneyfish
    15,796 Posts
    Tue, Mar 12 2013 2:00 AM

Your sand save stats are pretty poor Alanti. :-)

• alcaucin
    9,041 Posts
    Tue, Mar 12 2013 3:24 AM

courteneyfish:

lol, let's play nice....