Help › Forums

Re: windows help

rated by 0 users
Thu, Mar 19 2015 12:22 PM (13 replies)
  • PAGES
  • donsprintr
    2,063 Posts
    Thu, Mar 12 2015 4:40 PM

Also an easy way to access System Restore is to just hold your power button down until your computer shuts down. When it has fully shut down, restart it. It will show you a page that says windows did not shut down correctly, and it will give you several options ... one of them is Start in Safe Mode ... click on that , and it will give you an option to restore your system to an earlier date... :-)

• YankeeJim
    25,827 Posts
    Thu, Mar 12 2015 7:48 PM

ScottHope:

YankeeJim:
    Type restore in the search box under your start button.
    He doesn't have a start button Jim.  : )

Well I'm sure he has a search function somewhere.

• CanineSupervisor
    1,882 Posts
    Thu, Mar 12 2015 8:54 PM

Sting - First of all, what Win OS are you running; Vista,7, 8, 8.1?

I'm a MS Certified Architect. I doubt the update caused the issue; it sounds more like you got malware from that damn Dominoes ad they (WGT) embedded in the client. Happened to me the other morning after the ad played...it resized all my desktop and app icons to like 16x16 px and my game client was like 160x160 px in full screen mode. Then, after a reboot, I had the same issue you're having.

DO THIS and RUN system Restore, Sting.

If you're using 7 or 8 you'll need to expand More Details to view the menu at the top, if it's hidden.

Press CTRL + SHIFT + ESC. When Task Manager Pops up...choose FILE > Run New Task.

Type this command in the box: rstrui.exe and press OK.

Here's the screenshot, for anybody that thinks I'm joking..after the reboot..my entire desktop was blank.

• borntobesting
    9,683 Posts
    Thu, Mar 19 2015 12:22 PM

CanineSupervisor:

Sting - First of all, what Win OS are you running; Vista,7, 8, 8.1?