Forums

Help › Forums

Equipment upgrades for newbie?

Tue, Jul 31 2012 12:07 PM (21 replies)
  • Firenzo
    545 Posts
    Tue, Jul 24 2012 8:07 PM

I just started playing this game last week and am already hooked. What upgrades do you experienced players recommend first? I have already  bought the Taylor Made Spider Putter and after 1 round (St. George's) I'm loving it. I'm limited to what I can buy, as I'm just a pensioner and have to get all my equipment from taking surveys.  Should I join a CC?  

• jeffdos924
    1,085 Posts
    Wed, Jul 25 2012 8:32 AM

Driver --- something in the 250yrd range will last a long time.

Wedges ... a couple of better wedges will easily drop a couple of strokes. I'm not sure about the ATV's, but I'm guessing they would be perfect since they replace the Z-satins that I used forever and lots of peeps used the Pings.

• SHRUDE
    5,835 Posts
    Wed, Jul 25 2012 8:49 PM

I agree with Jeff.

Driver 1st , then Wedges.

The best you can afford or wait a level or two.

The Ping wedges are fine and only 110 creds each.

Then consider a ball with 'feel', Feels slows yur meter down.

WGT GI2 or even better GI3 balls

GI = Game Improvement.

There are spin balls and distance balls.

Spin will help you control the ball when it lands.

unfortunately the extra distance a Distance ball gives you isn't reflected in  the caddy for the club. This is why i preffered Spin balls when i came up the ranks, less to have to worry about to have to calculate estimated extra distance too.

Then consider Irons, then Putter, then your fairway woods.

• DiegoBeneIII
    9 Posts
    Sat, Jul 28 2012 2:34 PM

Hi Firenzo,

I can't say really say about joining a CC, as I'm still trying to work that one out for myself :)