Forums

Help › Forums

wgt is great, but spoiled by cheating

rated by 0 users
Tue, Oct 9 2012 2:02 PM (9 replies)
  • ArtAcer
    4 Posts
    Fri, Oct 5 2012 2:09 PM

I just started playing and have been steadily improving I shot a 44 in a tournament as a hack.  But I was beaten by a guy who shot a 30 and is an amateur, in fact just below him was a guy who shot a 31, and just joined this game a week ago?! 

I call cheat!!! What is WGT doing about this, because it really makes me want to stop playing the game.  I will do my part and report who I think is a cheater if someone tells me how...but it seems to be rampant...  Comments?

• YankeeJim
    25,827 Posts
    Fri, Oct 5 2012 3:48 PM

It's not really cheating, Art, it's called multiple IDs, basically as bad as cheating and hard to prove. Players get to a point in the game where the game gets harder than what they can handle so they establish a new ID and start over. This usually leads to them getting to a safe place, purposely staying there by controlling the average and then cleaning up on unsuspecting types such as yourself.

Multiple IDs have been a sore spot for everybody and WGT is scrambling trying to figure out a way to curb this. There's a few timid controls in place with more on the way. Things like tournament standings and Alternate Shot record (coming) will get factored into advancement where now they aren't and let players get away with major deceit. 

Yours is a particularly sad complaint because of your newness. It really throws a wet blanket over your own success but you can't dwell on it. Keep improving and enjoy the game, there's nothing you can do about the losers that do this.  GL

• frappefort
    3,994 Posts
    Fri, Oct 5 2012 3:59 PM

i  agree with YJ,just play your best no matter ,you will find good players here ,good players are the one  ,with one account   and the majority play for fun  ,,,,no credits involved,     you cant trust  that no more :)

• ArtAcer
    4 Posts