Help › Forums

Going Pro?

rated by 0 users
Wed, Jul 3 2013 2:06 AM (14 replies)
  • PAGES
  • dlocke
    6 Posts
    Sun, Jun 30 2013 5:29 PM

Hi guys...... am new to the game here but, I am enjoying a lot and look forward to many more holes! I do have a question.......I am a amateur and wondering when/how you become a pro, etc? how is it all decided?

Thanks

• HWei
    534 Posts
    Mon, Jul 1 2013 3:41 AM

"I found this in the forums and I believe this is correct.  I do not deserve credit for this information.  WGT does not either as they do not make it public.  However, over the years the players have finally got the formula figured out.  I believe. Here it is.

So in summary we have:

• When your average score is equal or smaller than 100 you go from hack to amateur.
    • When it is equal or smaller than 80 you go from amateur to pro.
    • When it is equal or smaller than 72 you go from pro to tour pro
    • When it is equal or smaller than 67 you go from tour pro to Master
    • When it is equal or smaller than 63 you go from Master to Tour master
    • When it is equal or smaller than 61 you go from Tour master to legend 

and

• you need to play at least 5 ranked rounds as hack before reaching Amateur
    • you need to play at least 10 ranked rounds as amateur before reaching Pro
    • you need to play at least 20 ranked rounds as Pro before reaching Tour pro
    • you need to play at least 25 ranked rounds as Tour pro before reaching Master
    • you need to play at least 40 ranked rounds as Master before reaching Tour Master
    • you need to play at least 50 ranked rounds as Tour Master before reaching Legend

Notice that those minimal number of ranked rounds are also the number of best rounds used to compute your average in that particular tier. So if you are Tour Master for example, your average is computed with your best 50 ranked round (that's why you need at least 50 rounds to move up).

Hope this helps  ,just keep practicing you'll get there