Forums

Help › Forums

Chatting etiquette

rated by 0 users
Tue, Jan 21 2014 5:16 AM (24 replies)
  • BubbaSauce
    260 Posts
    Mon, Jan 20 2014 8:54 AM

We all know, out on a real golf course, talking while someone is playing a shot is bad etiquette. I was wondering, how do you all feel about "chatting" while someone is making a shot?

Not long after I started playing against other players, I got to thinking about it and I started waiting to "send" a message in the chat box until after another player has made their shot.

I felt like the visual distraction of a new message appearing in the chat box was somehow just as bad as talking on a real course, so I've decided to hold back.

What say you all?

I'm curious, because I don't really see anyone holding back. Maybe it's no big deal, but it's been on my mind for a while now.

• drmoose
    3,538 Posts
    Mon, Jan 20 2014 9:08 AM

Gotta agree with you Bubba, I too considered it to be distracting, and don't chat while a shot is being taken. Always thought it was some kind of "un-written" rule and to be honest, don't remember seeing much of it at all ( although I may have just tuned it out ).

Doc :)

• JasonNumber100
    2,908 Posts
    Mon, Jan 20 2014 9:48 AM

It's a good question.

I've been known to stop my swing when I've seen the flash of a message come up. It's usually somebody congratulating me or another player for getting a birdie on the previous hole.

However, there is always somebody about to play their shot, so when do you chat?

I have got use to focusing on my swing and ignoring the chat box until I've fnished my shot.

Nobody wants to distract another player.

• hobbe95
    812 Posts
    Mon, Jan 20 2014 9:53 AM

I never though of it. But i always wait to send til player has hit.

Never seen it happen to me when i lining up  a shot or i just might not notice:)

cheers

• BubbaSauce
    260 Posts
    Mon, Jan 20 2014 9:54 AM

JasonNumber100: