Forums

Help › Forums

I feel so silly...

rated by 0 users
Wed, Mar 19 2014 1:16 PM (8 replies)
  • srellim234
    2,077 Posts
    Mon, Mar 17 2014 4:56 PM

We're on spring break right now (I work part time as a crossing guard), the weather is nice so I decided to take a 25 mile bike ride. One mile before arriving home I went to put my foot on top of a barrier post at the end of a bike trail and missed. I was basically stopped but I couldn't get my foot unclipped from the other pedal fast enough.

I proceeded to tip over in what felt like slow motion and lay there briefly like a beached whale. By the time I untangled myself and got up I discovered the front rim was bent like a potato chip.

The bike is my primary transportation so at least I have a few days to get another rim before the kids start school again. It is, though, an unexpected expense we didn't need right now.

All because of a break in concentration.

I feel so silly.

• courteneyfish
    15,796 Posts
    Mon, Mar 17 2014 10:59 PM

At least you weren't hurt sir. 

• srellim234
    2,077 Posts
    Mon, Mar 17 2014 11:24 PM

courteneyfish:

I am appreciative of that. Fortunately, the way I fell didn't test my helmet and my upper body was able to roll a bit so there was no jarring impact to break bones. The gloves even kept my hands from picking up gravel bits from the asphalt.

It definitely could have been a lot worse.

• hpurey
    11,505 Posts
    Tue, Mar 18 2014 7:14 AM

srellim234:

I couldn't get my foot unclipped from the other pedal fast enough.

I proceeded to tip over in what felt like slow motion and lay there briefly like a beached whale.

LOL.   I only laugh because " I've been there, done that"  hate the t-shirt, but have one. ;-)

Since I don't ride trails anymore, I went back to these.  

And I usually pull the straps off since the only time I ride my bike now is to work with office attire for clothing.

• frappefort
    3,994 Posts
    Tue, Mar 18 2014 9:21 AM

courteneyfish: