Help › Forums

Putting stats

rated by 0 users
Sat, Feb 5 2011 1:27 PM (18 replies)
  • PAGES
  • Puffling
    4 Posts
    Thu, Feb 3 2011 8:28 AM

Does anyone know what's wrong with the putting stats? No matter how I play my 0-5 foot putt stats always say I hole 45ish% of putts.

How is this possible? I'm no expert at this game but would think I hole more than 9 of every 10 putts from 0-5 feet. 45% holed would mean I am two putting regularly from 5 feet - three putting even - which just isn't the case.

Also can't believe I only hole one in ten putts from 5-10 feet, which WGT says is the case.

Surely some problem with their calculations? Anyone know?

• Noobingalltheway
    222 Posts
    Thu, Feb 3 2011 3:48 PM

You've had 2900 putts (or, attempts at putts). Lets assume that at least 2/3 of those were from under 5 feet away. 

To increase your putts made from less than 5 feet by just 1%, you need to make 20 putts in a row from this distance. That means to get it over 50%, you need to make 160 putts in a row (well slightly more actually), assuming what you're saying is correct (that you make 90% of these putts), you'd actually make 160 putts, and miss about 16 putts in between

..meaning that almost 200 putts later, you've increased by about 7% (200 putts is about equivalent to 15-18 9 hole games depending on how good you are - 200 putts from 0-5 feet is equivalent to more like 20-25 9 hole games)

That meant that 20-25 9 hole games later (or about a week or two depending on activity) you'll increase by 7%

I've checked on a few of WGTs averages (driving accuracy, GIR) and they all ring true for me...never did analysis on putting averages yet but I'd be happy to do so if anyone wants me to...but fairly sure that'll ring true also

Rob

• Puffling
    4 Posts
    Fri, Feb 4 2011 3:25 AM

Thanks for the reply Rob. I've done a bit of my own research too and worked it out.