Forums

Help › Forums

Putter Pal Analysis

Tue, Dec 4 2018 7:12 PM (25 replies)
  • Cicero733
    2,307 Posts
    Fri, Nov 30 2018 12:16 PM

I’m new to WGT, 3 months, and have noticed a very strange anomaly with the Putter pal. This occurs on all courses and all greens, especially at Erin Hills and Kiawah. These are all straight puts with lengths less than twenty feet. It does not occur every time on every putt. It is sporadic and unpredictable.

Dinged hit - The ball will usually move straight forward, however on some occasions it will come off either left or right at about a 25 degree angle missing the hole by a good foot or more. I know of no way to predict when this will happened.

Miss the ding left - in these instances a miss-hit to the left of the ding will move the ball to the right of the hole.

Miss the ding right - in these instances a miss-hit to the right of the ding will move the ball to the left of the hole.

I thought I was seeing things or miss-reading a break, so I started to study it, and, yes, it occurs as described. Again it is sporadic and unpredictable.

I empty cache files daily and restart periodically. This does nothing that I can see, the anomaly continues.

Has anyone else noticed or experienced this and if so is there a solution or work around?

I play the mobile version of the game on an iPad Pro. 

• DoctorLarry
    4,302 Posts
    Sun, Dec 2 2018 2:16 PM

I don't play mobile much but I do know that some putts look straight from a given view, but are really not straight.  More experienced players than I (who I watch on Youtube) will note that in their commentary and know how to line up those putts.

Maybe you have already done this, but I guess the only way to check this out for sure would be to spend a fair amount of time on the putting green - or any green in practice mode - and take multiple mulligans to confirm putt behavior.