Help › Forums

Complete Novice

rated by 0 users
Thu, Aug 4 2011 6:27 AM (9 replies)
  • ragandboneman
    59 Posts
    Wed, Aug 3 2011 8:08 AM

Hi All

Never played a round of golf in my life before , but for some reason or other  , over the past 4 or 5 months I seem to have grown a massive desire to start playing , and I've just turned 54 . Can't afford clubs or lessons yet ( but I'm working on that one ) , so this is the nearest I can get to actually playing . Hopefully I can improve my game , cos at the moment it's not very good to say the least . So I can't wait to actually play in a tourny .

Cheers

Bob

• YankeeJim
    25,827 Posts
    Wed, Aug 3 2011 8:50 AM

Most driving ranges have clubs you can use. Hit the local one and whack a few if you really want to get hooked.  All it takes is that one good swing and perfect hit, accident or otherwise, to keep you coming back. ;-)

• piztaker
    5,743 Posts
    Wed, Aug 3 2011 9:02 AM

I got my clubs from the local tip. You wouldn't believe the selection they had, some were as new. They charged me £5 for a dozen clubs complete with bag.

• ragandboneman
    59 Posts
    Wed, Aug 3 2011 9:51 AM

Cheers Piz................I may do that , theres one not far from me

• borntobesting
    9,681 Posts
    Wed, Aug 3 2011 9:54 AM

ragandboneman:

Hi All

Never played a round of golf in my life before , but for some reason or other  , over the past 4 or 5 months I seem to have grown a massive desire to start playing , and I've just turned 54 . Can't afford clubs or lessons yet ( but I'm working on that one ) , so this is the nearest I can get to actually playing . Hopefully I can improve my game , cos at the moment it's not very good to say the least . So I can't wait to actually play in a tourny .

Cheers

Bob