Forums

Help › Forums

Drop, after going in water.

rated by 0 users
Sat, Aug 6 2011 2:12 AM (9 replies)
  • piztaker
    5,743 Posts
    Thu, Aug 4 2011 11:51 AM

What's the rule here? I was 200 yards from the flag on the 18th hole at Congressional. I went for the pin as always but clicked late. The ball landed in the middle of the green seemed to hit a hard patch and bounced straight into the water. I was surprised to be taking my next shot from back 200 yards up the fairway again. Surely that isn't right.

• WGTicon
    12,511 Posts
    Thu, Aug 4 2011 1:50 PM

piztaker:

What's the rule here? I was 200 yards from the flag on the 18th hole at Congressional. I went for the pin as always but clicked late. The ball landed in the middle of the green seemed to hit a hard patch and bounced straight into the water. I was surprised to be taking my next shot from back 200 yards up the fairway again. Surely that isn't right.

I am not an expert but I think it's the rule where ball enters water. At certain angles, drops come into play and at other you go back to the original spot.

-wgticon

• Joeyola
    1,210 Posts
    Thu, Aug 4 2011 8:03 PM

piztaker:
    What's the rule here?

When a ball crosses the margin of the hazard (in real golf), the player always has choices or options.  Here there we do not get an options...so we get whatever the program defaults to.  It might not be what you would have picked, but its the same for everyone and that makes it fair.  Hitting another ball from the previous spot is always an option in real golf.  

Joey       

• MBaggese
    15,367 Posts
    Fri, Aug 5 2011 9:15 AM

I just made a similar shot yesterday at CCC, but my ball went into the water to the left of the pin, it put me about 45 yards back on the other side of the water, under some trees (no interference) into some 30/40 rough.

• piztaker
    5,743 Posts
    Fri, Aug 5 2011 11:14 AM

MBaggese: