Help › Forums

A Tiger in my garden.

rated by 0 users
Tue, Jan 8 2013 9:46 AM (13 replies)
  • PAGES
  • Timbo1984
    818 Posts
    Tue, Jul 10 2012 1:57 AM

I've been playing golf for about 15 or 16 years now, and have had the full bag of emotions that are connected with this great game. I've carded mulligans, eagle's even a hole in one! I've played at some truly amazing golf courses and some suitably forgettable ones as well.

I have been lucky enough to play with some incredibly talented players, one of whom has recently made his way onto the Sunshine Tour. I have played with some players so bad at golf that it would be painful to watch if it was not for the look of satisfaction they get from merely being outside and playing the game they love with mates they enjoy being with.

I have never played a round of golf by myself, as I see half the appeal of golf is playing it with other people. As a result of having upgraded my clubs a handful of times over the years I have 3 spare set's of clubs sitting in my garage in case of a keen player wanting to join me who doesn't have his or her own shovels.

About two years ago I had a day off and had made an arrangement to play at my local course with a mate of mine who on the morning of our planned game cancelled! Having booked a tee time for two and as I mentioned I do not play alone I was still very keen to knock the ball about and quickly rang up a few buddies who one after the next had to refuse my offer as this small mischief called "work" kept cropping up as the excuse for their begrudging exclusion.

So feeling rather sorry for myself as it was about 30 minutes till my tee time and I was without a wing man I was starting to resign myself to the fact that today, my day off, was going to be one which no longer was going to feature a game of golf.