Forums

Help › Forums

The 30 yard dilemma - now the 57 yard dilemma

Sun, Jan 1 2012 2:53 PM (57 replies)
  • jredasse
    28 Posts
    Sat, Nov 13 2010 7:49 PM

PUNCH SHOTS WITH WEDGES?????  NEVER TRIED IT......I HAVE BEEN PLAYING NOW FOR ALMOST 6 MONTHS AND STILL HAVE PROBLEMS AROUND THE GREENS WITH DISTANCES, ETC......PLEASE HELP??????????????  ANY SUGGESTIONS, MAN?????

• borntobesting
    9,681 Posts
    Sat, Nov 13 2010 9:02 PM

jredasse:

PUNCH SHOTS WITH WEDGES?????  NEVER TRIED IT......I HAVE BEEN PLAYING NOW FOR ALMOST 6 MONTHS AND STILL HAVE PROBLEMS AROUND THE GREENS WITH DISTANCES, ETC......PLEASE HELP??????????????  ANY SUGGESTIONS, MAN?????

My first suggestion might not be to your liking but get yourself some better wedges. The tour starters you are using are very inconsistent and make it extremely hard to judge distances with because with the low spin rate they have the balls tend to roll way too much. at level 40 the TM z satins and Ping tour w's are both available and make your short game so much easier. And they are only slightly more expensive than the WGT tour starters. And at level 41 you unlock some even better wedges.Get the better wedges and practice with them using the pitch instead of the chip in most cases. chip only when very close. And never in the rough higher than 20/25%. I have used the pitch punch and flop around the greens effectively for the most part. We all hit a few stinkers but that is part of the learning process.But the better wedges even perform well out of the higher rough like 35/40% . But in most cases it is much better to use the pitch. I have had quite a few pitch-ins including 1 earlier tonight for my first eagle on #4 at BPB. 

• CharlemagneRH
    1,054 Posts
    Sat, Nov 13 2010 9:16 PM

I'd play a 70% full swing shot.

• jakestanfill7
    949 Posts
    Sat, Nov 13 2010 9:16 PM