Forums

Help › Forums

So, what now?

Wed, Sep 17 2014 10:48 AM (282 replies)
  • Danmark2010
    805 Posts
    Fri, Jun 21 2013 6:44 AM

Fekdrink:

I started playing WGT a little under a month ago having read that it was a great "free" online game. Having played a lot of console based golf games from the days of he good old Commodore C64 through to the latest Tiger Woods PGA incarnation on the Xbox I thought this was a game for me. So, as much for me as anyone else here's my experiences so far and my plans for the future.

First things first. I decided fom the day I started that I wasn't going to pay a penny to play the game. If that meant I couldn't advance then so be it. I'd let the videos role and do the odd survey (not giving away too many sensitive personal details) and pick up free credits where I could.

At first I found the game tough. In fact I still do. So I set myself realistic targets. First up was to play at least a few holes ever day to climb the levels ladder and try to break the 18 handicap. After a week or so the target became a 9 handicap. I began to realse quickly that I needed better equipment. But didn't have the credits. However then came the free rental offer over the Masters' weekend. So I tried out some middle ranging clubs to see what I could achieve. And sure enough there was an improvement and I found myself shooting an average of about 2 over with the odd below par score. Hardly groundbreaking. I decided there and then to be patient and wait before spending my few credits until I could afford some really decent equipment. Clubs which would not need replacing until much,much later. I did some reserch, looked through the pro shop for good value, reachable without hitting Levels in the 90s. This is the list I've come up with:-

Driver - TM R1 TP 9.0, Level48, Cost - 2 495

3W - TM R11S, Level 41, Cost - 665

3H - TM R11S, Level 43, Cost - 665

Irons - TM RocketBallz, Level 68, Cost - 2 195